I feel happier when my laptop’s sleeping.

Ohhh the good old days when I’m just an innocent girl holding balloons in one hand and ice cream on the other.

Nope, that’s no longer the case.

Okay so nowadays, teenagers, okay slash that, everyone can’t seem to survive or function properly without the internet. Well, I agree. But also, it made the world so much more complicated. You know the cliche, cyber-bully, identity-theft, credit-card frauds and all that. But I experienced none of that, so why am I still so gloomy? I experienced something that I’m sure a lot of other people did too but I don’t think there’s a name for it yet. Or I’m just too out-dated that I don’t even know the name for it.

Hmmm, let me put it this way, I’ve experienced a whole new virtual competitiveness.

How so?

Okay, First there’s facebook pictures. For ex, if I’m not invited to a party, I sure as hell won’t miss the highlights! Why? My facebook homepage will be flooded with pictures of people having fun, status updates every second of what’s happening every minute. And well that is a very gratifying feeling you have, that is, if you are the one posting the pictures! On the other end of the laptop screen, teenagers are coming up with reasons and reasons of why they are not being invited to the party. “What did I do wrong?”, “Am I the only one not there?”, “Am I that invisible?”

So there is this newer thing called Twitter that came out after FB. Yea its fine.. Not much difference to facebook really.. but oh look at that, the updates are constant. Facebook sometimes are overcrowded with pictures or videos but Twitter filters all that. It’s just words.

Recently, well not so recently actually, there’s a new feature called the “Check-in” I suppose. I personally think that feature is really, mmm, mind-blowing, and I meant that without any good intention with it. I just don’t get the point of telling people where you are all the time! I think it’s just another silly way to grab people’s attention.

So you see, I’m a sad little girl over here.


The girl that’s on the other end of the laptop.
Scrolling through those picture perfect photo frames on my laptop while my mind is off wondering when will I get to be a part of the picture.

No, don’t get me wrong. I’m not unpopular. I chose this. I chose to leave school. I chose to have singing and guitar classes while my friends are hanging out in the mall. I chose to reject my friend’s invitation to stay home and write songs instead.
All I hope for is that, one day, all this will be worth it. đŸ™‚

2 Replies to “I feel happier when my laptop’s sleeping.”

  1. I think you’ve selected the better thing… to take singing & guitar lessons. Besides, you can create your own picture perfect frames. I guess I’ve never been one to follow the crowd, but rather created my own. You’re probably not missing much, other than a bunch of drama, by not being included in some of these gatherings. I can feel your heart and understand that it’s not easy not being included. But I tend to use those times to focus on what’s really important to me. I love the title and great post. Thanks!

    1. thank you so much!
      I think you are right about not missing much. I rather pursue my dreams, I am not saying that ditching my friends is a good thing, but if they are really my friends, they’d want me to do the same. đŸ™‚ Thanks! đŸ˜€

Leave a comment