Being a Guest.

Since I move around a lot, I have gotten used to the nomadic lifestyle. Adapting is easier than belonging.

In the car ride home today, my dad triggered this emotion that I had managed to lock out so well. Maybe it is a good thing that I can feel at ease at wherever I go but at the same time it is rather depressing that I have no place to call home.

I remember I wrote a song last year called “Passer Going By”, because that’s exactly what I am. I am always guest-starring in other people’s life. I just have this temporary role. If my life story is published as a book, that would be the fitting title for it.

I don’t mean that the place I am right now is lacking the “homey” feeling. What I get from it is that ,”Oh yeah this is great but I shouldn’t get too attached to it because I’m gonna have to say goodbye to it one day anyway.” The same problem lies with the people I surround myself with. Besides my family, I look at other people as if they are gonna be the future strangers. I guess I never dare to give too much, because I feel like, oh what’s the point in that?

I really don’t know how to end this blog post, but what I can say is that I wish that one day, I hope to find someone other than my family to call home. 🙂

3 Replies to “Being a Guest.”

  1. Hey, I’ve been listening to some of your songs on YouTube and just wanted to say that I love your original songs. Especially Tonight. There’s something about the melody that makes it so beautiful, and honestly, it’s stuck in my head now. And you sing it with so much emotion that it makes the song feel so real. As someone who has tried writing a couple of songs before, I really admire you being able to write such heartfelt lyrics and catchy melodies. And seriously, your videos deserve WAY more views.

    1. Thank you so much Brian for taking the time and effort to write to me! Sometimes when I post stuff up, whether its my original songs or a blog post, I feel like I’m talking to myself, so when someone write to me, I will get really excited. 😀

      “Tonight” is a very special song to me and I’m so glad you enjoyed it! Thank you for all the nice comments on my videos too, I really appreciate it. 🙂

      Happy New Year!

      Cheers!

      1. No problem (: You deserve way more views than now anyway. Actually the aim of my own blog, Bitesized Clips is to raise awareness about short films which obviously deserve more views on YouTube. Hopefully one day it will have enough influence to achieve that hahaha. But I really like original songs too, so I try to do my best to help through other avenues haha. Happy New Year from Singapore 😀

Leave a comment